Comments of Kim MacEachern, Staff Attorney,
Arizona Prosecuting Attorneys’ Advisory Council
at the November 15, 2012 Arizona House of
Representatives Interim Study Committee on
Metal Theft

Current statutes are consistent for classifying metal theft.

Theft: 13-1802

Class 2 felony if the property value > $25, 0000
Class 3 felony if the value > $4,000 < $25,000

Class 4 felony if the value > $3,000 < $4,000 and engine or
transmission of any value

Class 5 felony if the value > $2,000 < $3,000

Class 6 felony if the value > $1,000 < $2,000 and if property taken
from the person, firearm, or animal for fighting

Class 1 misdemeanor if the value > $1,000

Compare:

Kidnapping: Class 2 felony (and/or victim < 15 years)
Class 3 felony if victim released per state
Class 4 felony if victim released

Sex Trafficking: Class 2 felony (DCAC if victim <15 years)

Labor Trafficking: Class 2 felony



Burglary: 3rd degree: Class 4 felony (commercial)
2nd degree: Class 3 felony (residential)
1st degree: Class 2 felony (explosives/arms)

Forgery: Class 4 felony
Class 3 felony (to rent a drop house)

Trafficking Stolen Property: 2nd degree (reckless) Class 3 felony
Terrorism: Class 2 felony; with aggravator=Life

Misconduct/Weapons:

To facilitate terrorism: Class 2 felony

To facilitate a crime: Class 3 felony

Prohibited weapons/possessor; using for a felony, entering nuclear
plant: Class 4 felony

Possession on school grounds: Class 1 misdemeanor

Other: Class 6 felony, Class 1 misdemeanor

Homicide:

Negligent homicide: Class 4 felony

Manslaughter: Class 2 felony

Second degree murder: Class 1 felony

First degree murder: Class 1 felony-death or life in prison

Suggestion-

1) Create a stand-alone statute for Scrap Metal/Nonferrous Metal
Theft Infrastructure Damage:

Any person who negligently causes infrastructure damage in the
course of committing theft of scrap/ferrous or non-ferrous metal is
guilty of a class 2 felony.



Infrastructure damage is defined as:

Substantial damage to structures used for or by, or substantial
damage to or substantial interruption of public communications,
communication services, public transportation, common carriers,
public utilities, public establishments or other public services.

2) Fund a public awareness campaign. The greatest disconnect is
between the crime and the evidence needed to prosecute the
crime. Short of catching a person in the act it is difficult to link
a person with a particular metal, even when the dealer follows
his reporting obligations. In order to enlist the assistance of the
public and the victims to be the eyes and ears of law
enforcement so that timely reports and investigations can be
made raising the potential for convictions and to raise public
awareness to ensure that potential violators know the
consequences-both in terms of personal risk and public safety
risk and criminal consequences- a public service
announcement campaign complete with posters for each
recycler, flyers, billboards and PSAs on radio and TV are
imperative. Similar models have had success in reaching the
public. See e.g. Youth and Tobacco programs of ADHS.

3) Clarify the current scrap metal transaction limitation statute:

Reference:

44-1642. Records of purchase; transaction limitations; age
requirement for scrap metal seller; exception

C. A scrap metal dealer shall not provide payment for any scrap
metal on site at the time of the scrap metal transaction. Payment
shall be made by mailing a check or money order to a physical
address provided by the seller through a current driver license or
other identification prescribed in subsection A, paragraph 4 of this



section. The check or money order shall be made payable to the
business name for an industrial account. This subsection:

1. Except as provided in paragraphs 2 and 3 of this subsection, only
applies to industrial accounts, copper and aluminum wire with a
diameter of at least three-eighths of an inch. Any item imprinted
with an official logo, such as a manhole cover, etc. should be
included. Verification could be made with that logo holder after the
transaction but before the check is mailed that the item is not one
which has been reported stolen.

2. Except as provided in paragraph 3 of this subsection, applies to all
scrap metal transactions of three hundred dollars or more. Perhaps
it should apply to all transactions or at least to those where the FMV
of the item as presented to the scrap dealer would exceed the value
of the scrap metal by [x]% or more.

3. Does not apply to industrial accounts if the industrial accounts
annually pre-register employees who are authorized sellers on
behalf of the industrial accounts.



